Last updated on July 19, 2021

Lucky Clover - Illustration by John Stanko

Lucky Clover | Illustration by John Stanko

Once Upon a Time, there was this game called Magic: the Gathering. The creators of this game decided to take fairytale-type stories and mend them with this game. The result was Throne of Eldraine. And with the fairytale-MTG mashup came an awesome and amazing mechanic: Adventure.

This mechanic gives some fun and exciting gameplay, good flavor, and access to extra spells. It’s been one of my favorite mechanics since I’ve been in Magic. Let’s talk everything Adventure.

Adventure Rules

When you first take a look at a card with the Adventure mechanic, you can immediately tell that it’s different.

Bonecrusher Giant

Wait, it has two spells on it? Is this a split card? A double-faced? Nope! These, my friend, are Adventures. You undoubtedly have questions, but it’s easier than you think.

You can cast either spell on the card for its indicated converted mana cost. You have to choose one of the spells, though. You can’t cast both at the same time. The cost of the main spell (which is always a creature spell) is indicated as it is on most cards. And the cost of the Adventure spell (which is always an instant or sorcery) is indicated on the inset spell.

Brazen Borrower creature and adventure spell costs

Take Brazen Borrower as an example. The Borrower is the creature spell, and Petty Theft is the Adventure spell. If you cast the creature, the spell is cast and resolved as normal. But if you cast the adventure spell, it resolves differently.

If you cast the inset spell, the one labeled “Adventure”, this spell is exiled when it resolves and you can cast the main spell (the creature) of the card at a later point, from exile, by paying its converted mana cost and obeying the appropriate casting time rules.

That’s it. It’s only weird because it’s not very typical for Magic, but once you do it, it’s pretty natural.

In the comprehensive rules for Magic, Adventures are described in the glossary as “cards with a two-part card frame (one part of which is inset of the left) on a single card.” We’ll talk about and clarify some frequently asked questions in just a second, but if you want to take a look at the nitty gritty of Adventures check out rule 715.

Just like any other new or unfamiliar territory of Magic, things can get confusing. Especially when you have multiple spells on a single card. Let’s clarify a couple situations that are bound to come up.

What happens if an Adventure spell gets countered?

The Adventure mechanic states, “as it resolves, its controller exiles it.” The part to focus on here is “as it resolves”. If an Adventure spell is countered, it doesn’t not resolve. It goes to the graveyard like any other spell that’s been countered would and doesn’t get exiled, so you can’t cast the other part of the card later.

Do Adventures count as instants or sorceries?

The only time an Adventure card is an instant or sorcery is when the inset spell has cast and is on the stack. In all other locations (library, hand, battlefield, graveyard, exile), it has the characteristics of the main spell, which is a creature.

Do Adventure spells have summoning sickness?

Yes, the creature portion of an Adventure card can’t attack or tap the same turn it entered the battlefield. This applies no matter if it was cast from your hand or from exile. Unless it has haste, of course.

Can you use Archaeomancer or Mission Briefing to target an Adventure spell?

No. While a card with an Adventure spell on it is in the graveyard, it’s not an instant or a sorcery. It maintains the characteristics of the main spell, which is a creature.

What happens when I cast an Adventure and play a card like Twincast? Specifically, does the copy go into exile to be cast later as the original Adventure spell would?

While the copy created by Twincast would technically go into exile upon resolution, a copy of an instant or sorcery can only exist on the stack. Once the copy goes into exile it ceases to exist and you won’t be able to cast the creature portion of that copy later. The original spell that was copied will be exiled as an Adventure spell normally does and you can cast the creature later by paying its converted mana cost. Assuming it resolves.

Do the multiple card types on an Adventure card count toward effects such as Delirium or on Tarmogoyf?

No. While an Adventure card is in the graveyard, it maintains the characteristics of the main spell.

Can I cast the Adventure portion of a creature when resolving the effect of a spell like Electrodominance?

Yes. When casting an Adventure card, you choose whether you’re casting the creature or the Adventure. You can choose the Adventure portion when resolving Electrodominance’s affect.

Can Tournament Grounds tap for a colored mana to cast the Adventure portion of a card like Murderous Rider?

No. When casting the Adventure portion, it only has the characteristics of the Adventure spell. Therefore, it wouldn’t be a knight and Tournament Grounds wouldn’t tap for colored mana.

History of Adventure Cards

Adventure Awaits

Adventure Awaits | Illustration by Billy Christian

As mentioned earlier, the Adventure mechanic came to Magic with Throne of Eldraine. It was released on October 4th, 2019 and is the only set that has featured the Adventure mechanic. This set was designed around some popular fairytales that you’ve probably heard of. For example, WotC created Embercleave as the Magic universe’s version of Excalibur. I think the integration was done really well and made for a fun and interesting set. And the flavor of these cards going on an “adventure” goes perfectly with the fairytale theme.

But will the Adventure mechanic come back?

According to the Storm Scale, it is likely. WotC wants to find the right place for it, though. We probably won’t see it very often. It’s low on the scale as it is and it seems like Wizards may view the flavor of the mechanic as pretty specific to Throne of Eldraine, so they might not give it another go until there’s another space they like for it.

What Colors are Adventures Focused In?

There’s a good amount of Adventure cards in every color with the release of Throne of Eldraine. Some of the most powerful ones are Brazen Borrower, Bonecrusher Giant, and Lovestruck Beast.

Interestingly, though, Adventure is most prominent in Selesnya. Green and white have the most Adventure cards and had a noticeable archetype in Throne of Eldraine’s limited environment. Cards like Edgewall Innkeeper (or just “Eddy,” as you may know him), Wandermare, and Mysterious Pathlighter helped this archetype thrive. Throw a (banned in Standard) Lucky Clover in the mix and you’re good to go.

All the Adventure Cards

White

Blue

Black

Red

Green

Multicolor

Oakhame Ranger

Happily Ever After

I hope we see more Adventure cards in the future. I don’t necessarily expect to see them again soon, and they’re not used in many formats. You’ll probably see Bonecrusher Giant and Lovestruck Beast the most in some aggressive-style decks. Maybe Beanstalk Giant, Embereth Shieldbreaker, and Murderous Rider as well.

Adventure cards can be incredibly versatile and give you access to extra spells compared to decks without them. I think it’s a very well-designed mechanic for both Limited and Constructed. We’ll see when WotC decides to bless us with it again.

That’s all I have for you today! What’s your favorite Adventure card? Let me know in the comments down there. And don’t forget to keep an eye on us for more awesome stuff. We’re always working! If you wanna help support us, you could consider becoming a Patron as well. It helps us keep the lights on here and churn out more epic content.

Thanks for your time, and have a good one!

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *